Elected Officials

Harrison Township is governed by a three-member Board of Trustees, elected at-large for four year terms. The Trustees serve as the legislative body of the Township. In addition, a Fiscal Officer is elected to a four year term to serve as Fiscal Officer and maintain the Township’s records, including the proceedings of all board meetings and financial accounts. An appointed Administrator manages the Township’s day-to-day operations. Harrison Township employs 56 full-time and approximately 40 part-time workers.

The Board of Trustees meets at 7 p.m. on the first  Monday and 12 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month.  All meetings are held at the Government Center, 5945 North Dixie Drive.

Here is brief information about Harrison Township’s elected officials:

Roland Winburn, President
Winburn_0009_4x5 - Copy (2) - Copy

Mr. Winburn is a Dayton native who has resided in Harrison Township since 1996.  He is a 1965 graduate of Chaminade High School and earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Central State University, and received certification in Mediation and Dispute Resolution from the Capital University Law School.  Mr. Winburn began his life in public service working for Montgomery County before becoming an elected official.  In 2001 Mr. Winburn was appointed to the position of Trustee and then won the election to keep his position.  In 2005 Mr. Winburn was elected to serve his second term as Trustee.  Mr. Winburn sought and won his election in 2008 to become State Representative for Ohio’s 40th House District, and was re-elected in 2010.  In 2012, he was elected to serve the newly constituted 43rd House District.  FMR. State Representative Winburn represented Preble and North Western Montgomery Counties (Harrison Township, Brookville, Farmersville, New Lebanon, and Trotwood and portions of the cities of Clayton and Dayton).  Mr. Winburn is a graduate of the Ohio Township Leadership Academy and the Midwest Council of State Governments prestigious Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development as a BILLD Fellow.  Mr. Winburn is currently a board member of the Area Agency on Aging and Reach Out Montgomery County, and is a member of the Executive Committee of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) as Chairman of the Economic Development Committee. 

Georgeann Godsey, Trustee
Georgeann_Godsey - Copy

Ms. Godsey has lived in Harrison Township for over 44 years.  She is active in the Ft. McKinley Neighborhood by serving as part of the Ft. McKinley Neighborhood Outreach Program.  Ms. Godsey was appointed to the Harrison Township Zoning Commission in 2002.  She was first elected to the Board of Trustees in November 2013 and was sworn into her current four-year term in January 2014.  Ms. Godsey currently serves as the township representative for the Miami Valley Reginal Planning Commission and the First Tier Suburbs.  Ms. Godsey is the Secretary for the Dayton First Suburbs Consortium and the Montgomery County Township Association.  Ms. Godsey also serves as a board member for New Path, Inc.  Ms. Godsey is employed at Zeller Management as a Property Manager and accountant.

Charles M. Waldron, Jr.

Mr. Waldron has been a resident of Harrison Township since 1975, first in the Castlewood Neighborhood and then in the Catalpa Woods Neighborhood.  With his wife, Diann, Mr. Waldron has four children and eight grandchildren.  Mr. Waldron has owned and operated a general contracting business since 1979.  Until being appointed to the Board of Trustees in March of 2021, Mr. Waldron was the President of the Harrison Township Board of Zoning Appeals for 15 plus years.

Deborah Merrick,  Fiscal Officer
Debbie - headshots - Copy (2) - Copy

Ms. Merrick has been a resident of Harrison Township for over 45 years.  First appointed to office in February 2007, she has since been elected to three 4 year terms; the latest beginning April 2, 2016.   Ms. Merrick has been an employee of Handyman Ace Hardware's Corporate Office in Fairborn for 37 years, where she has held financial and management responsibilities.